NaNoWriMo Update: Day 24 – Winner!

https://i1.wp.com/files.content.lettersandlight.org/nano-2012-beta/files/2012/09/Participant-180x180-2.jpg Winner badge 180x180

Yeap, I finished my novel in 24 days out of the allocated 30. When I first heard about NaNoWriMo, I was unsure if it was something that I wanted to do, it seemed silly to try to pump out that much work in such a short amount of time. I had recently finished my first novel which clocked in at roughly 113,000 words over a nine month period (which I did twice, a first and a second draft) and considering the amount of work that went into writing that novel, I didn’t think I had it in me to do 50,000 words in a month. Then my wife told me she wanted to do it. Well crap, now I have to do it too. I can say that looking back at it now, I’m sure glad I did.

Here are my stats upon finishing:

Novel: Anathema (Sci-Fi Action/Suspense/Horror)
Your Average Per Day 1,924
Words Written Today 0
Target Word Count 50,000
Target Average Words Per Day 1,667
Total Words Written 50,042 Winner!
Words Remaining 0
 
The big thing about NaNoWriMo is that it energizes you to just write. I had an outline for my story written up ahead of time, but I really never gave the story much thought until November 1st came around and I suddenly had to start writing to hit the 1,667 word goal for the day. The flood gate of creativity had to be opened up to get words to screen and thankfully my brain didn’t disappoint. I suddenly found myself give life to characters that previously just had a name and a date with death scheduled for Chapter 8. By the time I finally got to Chapter 8, I was sad to see that character die. I even made an executive decision to save a character that was originally scheduled to also be killed off cause it added more to the story.
 
The point being, NaNoWriMo showed me how to be spontaneously creative and I highly recommend that any aspiring writers take a serious look at trying to do it. It doesn’t matter if you win or lose, the point is to write. You only got 30k instead of 50k? You still wrote 30,000 words in a month which is an awesome feat in its own right. Don’t let the word count goal stop you from trying. You may never know what you end up with.
Leave a Reply

