Superman Returns, Again

Man of Steel is an upcoming American superhero film (June 14, 2013) directed by Zack Snyder, produced by Christopher Nolan and scripted by David S. Goyer. Based on the DC Comics character Superman, the film will be a reboot of the Superman film series, portraying the character’s origin story. The film stars Henry Cavill in the title role, with Amy Adams as Lois Lane, and Michael Shannon as General Zod.

The official trailer is being shown ahead of The Hobbit (to be released 12/14/2012), though a full trailer was released through Apple’s Movie Trailer site early. If you are a fan of comic book movies, you have probably known that this movie was coming down the pipeline and this is our first decent glimpse at this movie (though it is really light on content so no real spoilers so far).

Before I go into my thoughts of the trailer, let me first state that in my heiracrchy of favorite comic book characters, Superman ranks pretty darn high for being virtually an unstoppable force of superpowers (I mean really, did they have to give him nearly all of the cool powers like lasers, super strength, invulnerability, flight, and xray vision?). Unlike most superheroes, the stories of Superman are not about how he has to use every ounce of his power to defeat someone better than him. There are virtually no villians even close to Superman’s power level. Instead, most Superman stories typically are about the heart and soul of a man who strives to protect a race of people not his own and asks for nothing in return. He is the a symbol of what humans should strive to be.

Now I have seen all of the Superman movies to date, though frankly Superman I, II, and Returns are the only worthy ones to mention. Each one  has its place and each one touches on what I’m looking for when watching Superman, the heart and soul of a man.

And now we have a new movie coming out and I have to say that I’m excited about this reboot. With as much as I like Superman Returns, I had trouble seeing it continuing on as it was since they tried so hard to connect it back to the original movies. With the success of the Batman reboot (Chris Nolan was also heavily involved with that), I have high hopes for a fresh new modern look to Superman.

Now enter the new trailer – Man of Steel Trailer –

The trailer is pretty basic in its structure, was catch glimpses of Clark Kent/Superman as a child, a teenager, and as a bearded hitchhiker. What, what? Yeap, our new Superman is totally packing a serious beard before taking on the red cape. Well…that will take some getting use to. We then see a quick flash image of General Zod as our main badguy (I have hopes that he will order us to kneel.) in what looks like a suit or armor, I can’t quite tell. The end of the trailer though is the best part, see our hero flying, with a cool new shot of him prepping for take off. I thought it was a nice touch.

All in all, I think this movie has some serious potential with Snyder in the director’s chair and Nolan as the producer. Considering both of their successes with 300 (Snyder) and Batman (Nolan), I think our old friend Superman will be flying high come 2013, and just in time for my birthday. What a nice present. 🙂

Leave a Reply

